The Board

Board Members


Professor Peter Roberts is Chair of the Housing Executive.

Professor Peter Roberts was appointed to the Board of the Housing Executive in 2012. He is also Co-Chair of the NHS Confederation Sustainable Development Group, an Honorary Professor at Queen’s University Belfast and a Visiting Professor at the University of Ulster.

Professor Roberts has a vast array of housing and regeneration experience. His research and professional interests cover a range of topics, including strategic planning, regeneration, housing and community development. In recent years he has served on a number of public bodies, including the Academy for Sustainable Communities (Chair) and the Homes and Communities Agency (a non-executive director).


John McMullan is Vice Chair of the Housing Executive

John was appointed Vice Chair of the Housing Executive Board on 1 April 2019.  
John holds a BA(Hon) Degree in Business Studies & a MBA from Ulster University. After 33 years John has retired as CEO of Bryson Group, one of the UK’s largest Social Enterprises.

John currently Chairs Social Enterprise NI; holds board positions on a range of Social Enterprises including Drumlin Wind Co-op; WorkWest community enterprise agency and a community based Credit Union.

John served as the NI representative on the UK Landfill Tax Credit Forum to advise HM Revenue & Customs; as Chair of the Visiting Committee for Hydebank Wood Young Offenders Centre and the NI Association of Members of Boards of (prison) Visitors; as a member of DFP’s Social Enterprise Working Group and was a member of the ministerial (DSD) Taskforce on resourcing the Voluntary and Community Sector and the Minister’s Fuel Poverty Taskforce; was appointed by the Minister at the Department for Social Development as 1st Chair of the Northern Ireland Fuel Poverty Advisory Group until 2009 and by the Minister of State at the Department of Public Enterprise (Republic of Ireland), as a founding Board Member of the Sustainable Energy Authority of Ireland (Sustainable Energy Ireland); was a Board member of Belfast Healthy Cities; Belfast Hills Partnership; Chaired the Visiting Professor’s Panel on Sustainability at the University of Ulster; Chaired the DoE’s Climate NI, climate change impact partnership; Chaired CO3, membership body for 3rd Sector leaders.

John is a Life Fellow of RSA, was NI & UK Social Enterprise Leader of the Year in 2011; was made a Distinguished Graduate of Ulster University; was awarded IoDNI 2012 & IoDUK 2013 Public & 3rd Sector Director of the Year. John was awarded a MBE in 1998 & an OBE in 2011. In 2015 was made a companion of the Chartered Management Institute. In 2017 was elected one of the first national Social Enterprise UK Fellows.

Alderman Allan Bresland represents Derry & Strabane District Council.  He served in the Northern Ireland Assembly as a Democratic Unionist Party (DUP) Member for West Tyrone from 2007-2011.

He was educated at Ballylaw Primary School, is a retired lorry driver with the Water Service and was first elected to Strabane District Council in 1993, representing the Glenelly area.  He is a member of various bodies including the Drainage Council of Northern Ireland and is current chair of the Western Group Environmental Health Committee.  He is also Chair of North West Passage, which promotes tourism in the area and is a member of the District Policing Partnership in Strabane.

Alderman Bresland lives in Sion Mills and is married with four children and four grandchildren.  He is a member of the select vestry of the Church of the Good Shepherd, Sion Mills, an active member of the Orange Order and a founder-member of North Tyrone Credit Union.   

Councillor Catherine Elattar has been a local Councillor since 2011 when she was elected to Magherafelt District Council.  She held the position of Chair in 2013 and Vice-Chair in 2012, and was also the Council’s representative on the Housing Council. Councillor Elattar was elected to the new Mid Ulster District Council in May 2014 and is a Member of the Development Committee and the Policy & Resources Committee.

She has a keen interest in community development and engagement.  Previously employed in Community Education, Councillor Elattar is now a midwife, working for the Northern Health and Social Care Trust.

Alderman Grehan has been a Local Councillor for the Alliance party for five years and was Deputy Mayor of Lisburn and Castlereagh City Council in 2018-19. She was also Chair of its Governance and Audit Committee during 2017-18, where she has gained relevant governance and risk management experience.  In addition, she was also Vice-Chair of the Corporate Services Committee during 2016-17. 

Alderman Grehan has also been the Manager of her local MLA’s Constituency Office for 12 years, and brings communication skills and resource management experience to the Board. She holds no other public appointments.


Jim McCall was Managing Director with Four Seasons Health Care Ireland and from May 2008 to 2015. He was also Chief Executive Officer with Ulster Supported Employment 2015-2016.

Jim has worked in Health and Personal Social Services in Northern Ireland for more than 40 years. He trained and qualified as a Social Worker and held a number of senior professional positions including Director of Social Services with a Health and Social Care Trust.

He has been employed in a number of Senior Management positions at Executive Director and Board Level including Chief Executive for 6 years of the largest integrated Health and Social Care Trust in Northern Ireland. Jim has extensive experience of working in challenging roles including managing Health and Community Social Services through significant reform, modernization and transformation programmes.

He has proven leadership credentials and a record of achievement.  He brings to the role of Non-Executive Director with the Northern Ireland Housing Executive experience of the Northern Ireland and UK Health and Social Care economy with vision, commitment and endurance.

He has studied at Queens University Belfast, University of Ulster, Brunel Institute and completed programmes at the Harvard Business School and European Business School (Insead) at Fontainebleau.


Mr Millar lives in Comber. He has not engaged in any political activity in the last five years. He holds one other public appointment as Chairman of the Police Rehabilitation and Retraining Trust.


Councillor Mickey Ruane lives in Warrenpoint and was first elected in 2001 to Newry & Mourne District Council and held the position of Mayor in 2013.  He also served two terms on the Board of Warrenpoint Harbour Authority in this time.

Councillor Ruane was elected to the new Newry Mourne & Down District Council in 2014 and served as Chair of Council in 2016.  He has also served as the Sinn Fein group leader on the council for a number of years and is a Board Member on East Border Region.


A graduate of Queen’s University, Derek Wilson has thirty eight years’ experience working in Financial Services, including senior managerial positions as Head of Mortgages in two of the main four local banks.  For ten years he was Chairman and media spokesperson for the NI Mortgage Committee of UK Finance (formerly the Council of Mortgage Lenders) and has served on a number of housing relating fora, including the Housing Supply Forum and Housing Rights Service Preventing Possession Partnership.  He is also on the Board of Co-ownership.

Derek has not undertaken any political activity in the last five years.  He has been a member of the Board of the Housing Executive since 2015.

Chief Executive
Is this page helpful?
Yes No